A Summary of the Srimad Bhagavata Mahapuranam-2-4.

Chapter-2. The Process of Creation-4.

But after having created this total with the fiat of His will, there is no objection to the idea that the process of evolution took place gradually, because the theory is that creation is a cyclic process.

It is not a sudden emerging of things that did not exist earlier.

It is not that God created the world from nothing.

We may say that, in some way, God does not create things Himself, as the sun does not create the problems of life, though without it no movement can take place here.

God is responsible for the evolution of the potentials that existed during the conclusion of the previous cycle—called mahapralaya, the dissolution of the cosmos after one hundred lives of Brahma, the creative principle.

The one hundred lives of Brahma is something difficult to imagine in one’s mind.

There are four cycles of time, called Krita Yuga, Treta Yuga, Dvapara Yuga and Kali Yuga. Kali Yuga, which is the time through which we are passing now, is considered to be the worst of times because there is conflict everywhere, which is why it is called Kali, which means quarrel.

There is quarrel everywhere in this particular time of our life in this world.

This period of Kali is supposed to range for about four lakhs twenty thousand years (420,000).

Double that time is the duration of Dvapara Yuga.

Treble that time is the duration of Treta Yuga.

Four times the duration of Kali Yuga is the duration of Krita Yuga.

When these fourfold cycles of such long duration revolve one thousand times, it is one day of Brahma; and that length of one thousand cycles of similar duration is the night of Brahma.

These cycles constituting the day and night of Brahma make one full day of Brahma, and Brahma lives for one hundred years. Calculating Brahma’s lifespan is like calculating the distance of the stars—so many light years, and much more than that.

Swami Krishnananda
To be continued  .....


Popular posts from this blog

Srimad Bhagavatham : 6.3.33.

Srimad Bhagavatham : 6.3.18.

Srimad Bhagavatham : 6.4.35 to 39.