Skandham-5. Chapter-1. Slokams- 25 & 26.


The ten sons of Maharaja Priyavrata were named Agnidhra, Idhmajihva,
Yajnabahu, Mahavira, Hiranyareta, Ghrtaprstha, Savana, Medhatithi, Vitihotra
and Kavi. These are also names of Agni, the fire-god.


Three among these ten—namely Kavi, Mahavira and Savana—lived in
complete celibacy. Thus trained in brahmacharya life from the beginning of
childhood, they were very conversant with the highest perfection, known as the

The word urdhva-retasah in this verse is very significant. Urdhva-retasah
refers to one who can control sex life and who instead of wasting semen by
discharging it, can use this most important substance accumulated in the body
to enrich the brain. One who can completely control sex life is able to work
wonderfully with his brain, especially in remembering. Thus students who
simply hear Vedic instructions once from their teacher could remember them
verbatim without needing to read books, which therefore did not exist in
former times.

Another significant word is arbha-bhavat, which means "from very
childhood." Another meaning is "from being very affectionate to children." In
other words, paramahaàsa life is dedicated for the benefit of others. Just as a
father sacrifices many things out of affection for his son, great saintly persons
sacrifice all kinds of bodily comforts for the benefit of human society. In this
connection there is a verse concerning the six Gosvamis:

tyaktva turnam asesa-mandala-pati-srinam sada tucchavat
bhutva dina-ganesakau karunaya kaupina-kanthasritau

Because of their compassion for the poor fallen souls. the six Gosvamis gave up
their exalted positions as ministers and took vows as mendicants. Thus
minimizing their bodily wants as far as possible, they each accepted only a
loincloth and a begging bowl. Thus they remained in Vrndavana to execute
the orders of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu by compiling and publishing various
Vaishnava literatures.