Skandham-5. Chapter-1. Slokam-40.




"To stop the quarreling among different peoples, Maharaja Priyavrata
marked boundaries at rivers and at the edges of mountains and forests so that
no one would trespass upon another's property."

The example set by Maharaja Priyavrata in marking off different states is
still followed. As indicated here, different classes of men are destined to live in
different areas, and therefore the boundaries of various tracts of land, which
are described here as islands, should be defined by different rivers, forests and
hills. This is also mentioned in relation to Maharaja Prthu, who was born from
the dead body of his father by the manipulation of great sages. Maharaja
Prthu's father was very sinful, and therefore a black man called Nisada was
first born from his dead body. The Naisada race was given a place in the forest
because by nature they are thieves and rogues. As animals are given places in
various forests and hills, men who are like animals are also destined to live
there. One cannot be promoted to civilized life unless one comes to Krishna
consciousness, for by nature one is destined to live in a particular situation
according to one's karma and association with the modes of nature. If men
want to live in harmony and peace, they must take to Krishna consciousness, for
they cannot achieve the highest standard while absorbed in the bodily concept
of life. Maharaja Priyavrata divided the surface of the globe into different
islands so that each class of men would live peacefully and not clash with the
others. The modern idea of nationhood has gradually developed from the
divisions made by Maharaja Priyavrata.



Popular posts from this blog

Srimad Bhagavatham : 6.3.33.

A Summary of the Srimad Bhagavata Mahapuranam-5.1

A Summary of the Srimad Bhagavata Mahapuranam-3.26.

BHAGAVATHAM : Discourse 1: King Parikshit’s Question to Suka Maharishi -3 : Swami Krishnananda

A Summary of the Srimad Bhagavata Mahapuranam-3.25.

A Summary of the Srimad Bhagavata Mahapuranam-5.6

A Summary of the Srimad Bhagavata Mahapuranam-3.7.

Srimad Bhagavatham : 6.3.4.

Srimad Bhagavatham : 6.2.18.

Srimad Bhagavatham : 6.3.14 & 15.