Skandham-5, Chapter-1, Slokam-27.

Thus situated in the renounced order from the beginning of their lives, all
three of them completely controlled the activities of their senses and thus
became great saints. They concentrated their minds always upon the lotus feet
of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, who is the resting place of the totality
of living entities and who is therefore celebrated as Vasudeva. Lord Vasudeva is
the only shelter of those who are actually afraid of material existence. By
constantly thinking of His lotus feet, these three sons of Maharaja Priyavrata
became advanced in pure devotional service. By the prowess of their devotional
service, they could directly perceive the Supreme Personality of Godhead, who
is situated in everyone's heart as the Supersoul, and realize that there was
qualitatively no difference between themselves and Him.

The paramahamsa stage is the topmost position in renounced life. In
sannyasa, the renounced order, there are four stages—kuticaka, bahudaka,
parivrajakacarya and paramahamsa. According to the Vedic system, when one
accepts the renounced order, he stays outside his village in a cottage, and his
necessities, especially his food, are supplied from home. This is called the
kuticaka stage. When a sannyasi advances further, he no longer accepts
anything from home: instead, he collects his necessities, especially his food,
from many places. This system is called madhukari, which literally means "the
profession of the bumblebees." As bumblebees collect honey from many
flowers, a little from each, so a sannyasi should beg from door to door but not
accept very much food from any particular house; he should collect a little bit
from every house. This is called the bahudaka stage. When a sannyasi is still
more experienced, he travels all over the world to preach the glories of Lord
Vasudeva. He is then known as parivrajakacarya. The sannyasi reaches the
paramahamsa stage when he finishes his preaching work and sits down in one
place, strictly for the sake of advancing in spiritual life. An actual
paramahaàsa is one who completely controls his senses and engages in the
unalloyed service of the Lord. Therefore all three of these sons of Priyavrata,
namely Kavi, Mahavira and Savana, were situated in the paramahaàsa stage
from the very beginning. Their senses could not disturb them, for their senses
were completely engaged in serving the Lord. Therefore the three brothers are
described in this verse as upaçama-silah. Upasama means "completely subdued."
Because they completely subdued their senses, they are understood to have
been great sages and saints.

After subduing their senses, the three brothers concentrated their minds
upon the lotus feet of Vasudeva, Lord Krishna. As stated in Bhagavad-geeta (7.19),
väsudevaù sarvam iti. The lotus feet of Vasudeva are everything. Lord
Vasudeva is the reservoir of all living entities. When this cosmic manifestation
is dissolved, all living entities enter the supreme body of the Lord,
Garbhodakaasyi Vishnu, who merges within the body of Maha-Vishnu. Both of
these vishnu-tattvas are vasudeva-tattvas, and therefore the great sages Kavi,
Mahavira and Savana concentrated always upon the lotus feet of Lord
Vasudeva, Krishna. In this way they could understand that the Supersoul within
the heart is the Supreme Personality of Godhead, and they could recognize
their identity with Him. The complete description of this realization is that
simply by discharging the unalloyed form of devotional service, one can realize
his self completely. The parama-bhakti-yoga mentioned in this verse means
that a living entity, by dint of unalloyed devotional service, has no other
interest than the service of the Lord, as described in Bhagavad-geeta (vasudevah
sarvam iti [Bg. 7.19]). By parama-bhakti-yoga, by elevating oneself to the highest
platform of loving service, one can automatically be relieved from the bodily
concept of life and see the Supreme Personality of Godhead face to face. As
confirmed in Brahma-samhita:


santaù sadaiva hådayeñu vilokayanti,

yam Syamasundaram acintya-guna-svarupam,

govindam adi-purusam tam aham bhajami.

[Bs. 5.38]

An advanced devotee, who is known as a sat, or saint, can always see within
his heart the Supreme Personality of Godhead, face to face. Krishna,
Syamasundara, expands Himself by His plenary portion, and thus a devotee

can always see Him within his heart.